HDR academic advice

HDR academic advice

Please note: the below is for HDR academic advisors only

For undergraduate and postgraduate academic advice, visit our Academic and program advisers page.

Faculty of Arts

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research Dr Noah Bassil
Faculty BPhil/MRes Convenor & LecturerDr Kirstin Mills kirstin.mills@mq.edu.au
Faculty HDR Manager Ms Maryanne Hozijan maryanne.hozijan@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4238
General Enquiries - PhD & MPhil Faculty HDR Office arts.hdr@mq.edu.au
General Enquiries - MRes & BPhil         Faculty HDR Office arts.mres@mq.edu.au
Ancient History
Head of Department

Professor Ray Laurence

ray.laurence@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-1430
HDR Director

500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

+61-2-9850-8850
HDR Director (Acting)

Dr Danijel Dzino

+61-2-9850-8751
MRes Director [Year 1 - BPhil]Associate Professor Ian Plant
+61-2-9850-8880
MRes Director [Year 2 - MRes] Dr Gunner Mikkelsen

gunner.mikkelsen@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8868

Anthropology
Head of Department Associate Professor Chris Houston +61-2-9850-8471
HDR Director Dr Eve Vincent
+61-2-9850-8026
MRes Director [Year 1 - BPhil]Associate Professor Lisa Wynnlisa.wynn@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 8095
MRes Director [Year 2 - MRes]Associate Professor Jaap Timmer
jaap.timmer@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8077
School of Education
School DeanProfessor Mary Ryan
+61-2-9850-8059
HDR DirectorDr Shirley Wyver
+61-2-9850-9859
MRes DirectorDr Hye-Eun Chuhye-eun.chu@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8002
English
Head of Department
Associate Professor Hsu-Ming Teo
+61-2-9850-7018
HDR Director
Dr Geoff Payne
+61-2-9850-8726
MRes Director
Dr Stephanie Russo
stephanie.russo@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8731
Geography and Planning
Head of DepartmentAssociate Professor Kristian Ruming
+61-2-9850-8314
HDR DirectorAssociate Professor Sandie Suchet-Pearson +61-2-9850-8393
HDR DirectorDr Miriam Williams
+61-2-9850-2153
MRes Director

Dr Emily O'Gorman

Dr Jessica McLean (Deputy Director)

emily.ogorman@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9670
 
jessica.mclean@mq.edu.au
+61 2 9850 6295        
Indigenous Studies
Head of Department Professor Bronwyn Carlson +61-2-9850-8891
HDR Director Dr Tristan Kennedy tristan.kennedy@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6751
MRes Director Dr Tristan Kennedy tristan.kennedy@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6751 
International Studies
Head of Department Dr Jane Hanley +61-2-9850-6885
HDR Director Dr Marika Kalyuga +61-2-9850-7016
MRes Director Dr Tom Baudinette tom.baudinette@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8813
Macquarie Law School
School DeanProfessor Marc De Vos +61-2-9850-9931
HDR Director (Acting)
Dr Amy Barrow
+61-2-9850-7810
MRes Director
Dr Amy Barrow
+61-2-9850-7810
Media, Music, Communication & Cultural Studies (MMCCS)
Head of Department
Professor Nicole Anderson
+61-2-9850-2258
HDR Director
Dr Anthony Lambert
+61-2-9850-2148
MRes Director Professor John Potts john.potts@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2163
Modern History, Politics and International Relations 
Head of Department Associate Professor Clare Monagle +61-2-9850-7918
HDR DirectorDr Lavina Lee
+61-2-9850-8872
MRes Director (Modern History) Dr Leigh Boucherleigh.boucher@mq.edu.au 
+61-2-9850-7041
MRes Director (Politics & International Relations) Dr Francesco Stolfifrancesco.stolfi@mq.edu.au
Philosophy
Head of Department

Professor Richard Menary

+61-2-9850-6896
HDR Director Dr Albert Atkin       +61-2-9850-6880
MRes Director

Associate Professor Paul Formosa

paul.formosa@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8817

Security Studies and Criminology 
Head of Department Professor Ben Schreer +61-2-9850-1423
HDR Director Dr Alex Simpson
+61-2-9850-1422
MRes Director Dr Alex Simpson
+61-2-9850-1422
Sociology
Head of Department
Associate Professor Ben Spies-Butcher
+61-2-9850-4074
HDR Director Dr Hang Young Lee +61-2-9850-4114
HDR Director
Dr Kumiko Kawashima
+61-2-9850-7943
MRes Director [Year 1 - BPhil]Dr Harry Blattererharry.blatterer@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8069
MRes Director [Year 2 - MRes] Dr Peter Rogerspeter.rogers@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6781

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research  Associate Professor Tracy Rushmer   +61-2-9850-8366
Deputy Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research 

Associate Professor Bridget Mabbutt

  +61-2-9850-8282
MRes Director Associate Professor Bridget Mabbutt  bridget.mabbutt@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8282
Faculty HDR Manager Ms Jane Yang  jane.yang@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4427
General Enquiries Faculty HDR Office  sci.hdradm@mq.edu.au 
Biological Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Michelle Leishman

  +61-2-9850-9180
HDR Director

Associate Professor Culum Brown

Professor Simon Griffith

  +61-2-9850-6292
simon.griffith@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-1301        
MRes Advisor

Dr Matthew Kosnik (Y1)

Dr Ajay Narendra (Y2)

 matthew.kosnik@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-7248
ajay.narendra@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8187
Molecular Sciences
Head of Department

Professor Alison Rodger

  +61-2-9850-8264
HDR Director

Professor Paul Haynes

  +61-2-9850-6258
MRes Advisor A/Prof Louise Brown (Y1)
Dr Morten Andersen (Y2)
 louise.brown@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8294
morten.andersen@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-7487        
Chiropractic
Head of Department

DC Rosemary Giuriato

  +61-2-9850-6992
HDR Director

Dr Roger Engel

  +61-2-9850-6387
MRes Advisor Prof Simon French simon.french@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6383
Computing
Head of Department

Professor Michael Sheng

  +61-2-9850-9514
HDR Director

Associate Professor Mark Dras

  +61-2-9850-9580
MRes Advisors Dr Young Lee
Dr Matthew Roberts
 young.lee@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9516
matthew.roberts@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9564
Earth and Environmental Sciences
Head of Department

Professor  Dorrit Jacob (Acting)

  +61-2-9850-8428
HDR Director

A/Prof Paul Beggs

  +61-2-9850-8399
MRes Advisor Dr Steven Hansen (Y1)
Dr Stefan Loehr (Y2)
 steven.hansen@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8166
stefan.loehr@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8378
School of Engineering
Dean of School

Professor Darren Bagnall

  +61-2-9850-9071
HDR Director

Dr Ruth Oliver

  +61-2-9850-9250
MRes Advisor

Dr Ann Lee

 ann.lee@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-9069
MRes Advisor Associate Professor Shujuan Huang 
+61-2-9850-2279
Mathematics and Statistics
Head of Department

TBC

  
 
HDR Director Dr Richard Garner             richard.garner@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8923
MRes AdvisorDr Adam Sikora adam.sikora@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8919
Physics and Astronomy
Head of Department

Professor Michael Steel

  +61-2-9850-8916
HDR Director

Associate Professor Alex Fuerbach

  +61-2-9850-6145
MRes Advisor (Year 1) Dr Matthew Owers (Y1) 
matt.owers@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4445
MRes Advisor (Year 2) Dr Joanne Dawson  joanne.dawson@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8901

Faculty of Medicine, Health and Human Sciences

Associate Dean, Higher Degree Research  Professor Mark Connor mark.connor@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2719
MRes Director Dr Jennifer Rowland jen.rowland@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2738
General Enquiries

Faculty HDR Office

fmhhs.hdr@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4531 / 9243 / 8638

Australian Institute of Health Innovation
Head of DepartmentProfessor Jeffrey Braithwaitejeffrey.braithwaite@mq.edu.au
+612 9850 2401
HDR Director/MRes Advisor Associate Professor Rebecca Mitchell r.mitchell@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-2321
Biomedical Sciences
Head of DepartmentProfessor Helen Rizoshelen.rizos@mq.edu.au
+612 9850 2762
HDR Director/MRes Advisor Dr Dane Turner +61-2-9850-2754
Clinical Medicine
Head of DepartmentProfessor Vincent Lamvincent.lam@mq.edu.au
+612 9812 3961
HDR Director/MRes Advisor Professor Stuart Graham stuart.graham@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4000
Cognitive Science
Head of Department

Professor Genevieve McArthur

+61-2-9850-9162
Department Administrator

Ms Lesley McKnight

+61-2-9850-9599
HDR Director

Associate Professor Paul Sowman

+61-2-9850-6732
BPhil/MRes Advisor

Associate Professor Paul Sowman

paul.sowman@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6732
Health Professions
Head of DepartmentAssociate Professor Verity Paceyverity.pacey@mq.edu.au
+612 9850 2795
HDR Director Professor Julia Hushjulia.hush@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6621
MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Verity Paceyverity.pacey@mq.edu.au
+612 9850 2795
Health Systems and Populations
Head of DepartmentProfessor Janaki Aminjanaka.amin@mq.edu.au
+612 9850 2404
HDR Director/MRes Advisor Dr Josephine Chau +61-2-9850-2302
Linguistics
Head of Department

Associate Professor Jan-Louis Kruger

+61-2-9850-1467
HDR Director

Associate Professor Annabelle Lukin

annabelle.lukin@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8607
MRes Year 2 Advisor

Dr Cassi Liardet

cassi.liardet@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8756
BPhil/MRes Yr 1 Advisor Dr Cassi Liardet cassi.liardet@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-6704
Psychology
Head of Department

Professor Erik Reichle

+61-2-9850-8015
500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

Dr Lorna Peters

+61-2-9850-6727
500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

Associate Professor Kevin Brooks

+61-2-9850-7796
PhD/Master of Clinical Psychology

Dr Carolyn Schniering

+61-2-9850-6741
PhD/Master of Clinical Neuropsychology

A/Prof Jennifer Batchelor

jennifer.batchelor@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8012
PhD/Master Organisational Psychology

Dr Ben Searle

ben.searle@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8066
BPhil/MRes Advisor Associate Professor Simon Boag simon.boag@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8024

Macquarie Business School

Associate Dean, Higher Degree ResearchAssociate Professor Vito Mollica+61-2-9850-9097
MRes DirectorAssociate Professor Vito Mollica
+61-2-9850-9097
School HDR ManagerMs Lin Bai lin.bai@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4818
General EnquiriesMQBS HDR Office+61-2-9850-1811
Accounting and Corporate Governance
Head of Department
Associate Professor Rahat Munir
+61-2-9850-4765
HDR Director/MRes Advisor
Associate Professor Sophia Su
+61-2-9850-8454
Actuarial Studies and Business Analytics
Head of Department
Professor David Pitt
+61-2-9850-8455
HDR Director/MRes Advisor

Dr Xian Zhou

+61-2-9850-8566
Applied Finance
Head of DepartmentProfessor Tom Smithtom.smith@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-4761
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorDr Jianlei Hanjianlei.han@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8538
Economics
Head of Department

Professor Lisa Magnani

+61-2-9850-4829
HDR Director/MRes Advisor

Dr Kompal Sinha

+61-2-9850-6069
Management
Head of Department

Professor  Steven Grover

HDR Director

Associate Professor Denise Jespen

+61-2-9850-4805
MRES AdvisorAssociate Professor Yue Wangyue.wang@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8513
Marketing
Head of Department

Professor Aron O'Cass

aron.ocass@mq.edu.au
+61-2-9850-8558
HDR Director/MRes AdvisorAssociate Professor Ralf Wilden
+61-2-9850-1413

Content owner: HDR Research Training and Partnerships Last updated: 09 Jul 2020 10:08am

Back to the top of this page